top of page

S-U-C-C-E-S-S


When I was little my mom used to come up with different rhymes and poems to help me remember my multiplication tables and spelling words. One of the words she had a little cheer for was 'Success,' and it went a little something like this,

"[slowly spell] S-U-C-C [quickly spell] -E-S-S that's the way we spell SUCCESS. Ra, ra sish koom bah, come on baby, you'll go far."

As I'm writing this unit, this cheer is all I can think about. Thanks Mom ;-)

Last year I stumbled upon a video posted by dancer and entertainer Julianne Hough. She had joined a movement started by Strayer University to redefine the word 'Success' in the dictionary. You can watch the video by clicking on the link below:

According to the Miriam-Webster Dictionary Success is defined as, “the fact of getting or achieving wealth, respect, or fame.” I've been thinking a lot about this subject and trying to define what success is for myself. Conclusion: there is no conclusion. It's remains an open ended question, I believe success is different for everyone and should not be labeled as one definite thing, especially 'wealth, respect or fame."

Would you sign the petition to change the definition? What does success mean to you?

Keep following The Contemporary Movement, as I continue to share facts and information about tools you can use to become the best possible you.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page